#RemixYourWorkout Challenge: Part One

Jordan Younger (aka The Balanced Blonde), a blogger I follow and have written about before, is partnering with Asics in their #RemixYourWorkout campaign. The idea is to try 5 different workouts throughout the month of December with the potential of winning a pair of Asics sneakers! Of course, I wanted to participate.

I have mentioned before that I am a recovering exercise junkie and that I have a tendency to get addicted to routines. That is why I am really excited to not only participate in this workout remix, but to elaborate on it here and invite all of you to join me.

I have tried lots of different “workout challenges” before, from Tone It Up to Self Magazine to the Barre3 January Challenge… just to name a few. While I learned a lot from each of these experiences (and fell in love with Barre3), the underlying reason I did them was because I believed that the workout would help me finally achieve the body I longed for. Now, I don’t workout to aesthetically change my body. I workout to feel good, relieve stress, be strong, and maintain my health. This change in mindset has effected my whole lifestyle for the better. There was a time where I would not have wanted to enter the #RemixYourWorkout contest because I would not have been able to imagine switching up my exercise and straying from my beloved routine.

Fortunately, this is no longer the case. I am constantly varying my workout to fit various factors such as my mood, my schedule, and my physical status. Throughout the rest of the month I am going to show you what my remixed workouts look like.

Especially during this time of year, it can feel impossible to stick to a fitness plan- which is why I encourage you not to! Participate in the #RemixYourWorkout Challenge and just try to move in anyway you can throughout the next three weeks. I have finally come to understand that healthy exercise does not have to happen in a gym. This is especially important to keep in mind when you are juggling a busy schedule and logging an hour long gym session just isn’t possible. This past weekend, I was at our family home in Vermont and I was trying to fit in a lot of activities in a short amount of time. I knew I wanted to get to the farmers market on Saturday morning and I also had plans to go on the Santa Train with my niece & nephew later in the afternoon. Plus, I wanted to help my dad out with raking our big backyard. Instead of trying to squeeze in a workout and cut out time to do any of the three things listed above, I got my sweat on while raking leaves. I felt great being outside (mental benefit), I helped my dad (emotional benefit), and I was moving and using my muscles in a different way (physical benefit)!

img_4314
Bonus points if you get your little ones involved!

Join me during the holiday season and #RemixYourWorkout to fit YOUR needs! Follow along with me on Instagram the rest of this month for more ideas of how to switch things up while still getting plenty of benefits. If you participate, be sure to share on social media with #RemixYourWorkout, #TBBmademedoit, and #bloodsugarsweatandtears !!!

Leave a Reply

