Talk About it Tuesdays:

Getting Involved in the Diabetes Community

image1

After attending my very first JDRF event over the weekend, I decided to write about the diabetes community for this week’s Talk About it Tuesday. Most likely, if you are reading this blog, then you have some knowledge of the diabetes community. I have had diabetes for 21 years now, but I am only just beginning to tap into the amazing network of T1Ds and T1D supporters.
It was raining pretty hard in Boston on Saturday, October 1st, but that did not keep people from attending the JDRF One Walk. The area surrounding the Hatch Memorial Shell on the Charles River Esplanade was full of ponchos, rain boots, and sunny energy. I met a variety of people, from Type 1 teenagers to their mothers to aunts of young T1D nephews to groups of college-aged kids supporting their T1D friend. I even bumped into one of my brother’s friends from high school who I hadn’t seen in years. I never would have guessed that a diabetes fundraiser would be the place we would reunite.
I am not normally one to approach people I don’t know, but something about the fact that we were all there for the same underlying reason brought me a strong sense of commonality and comfort around people who otherwise would have seemed like “strangers.” I introduced myself to different people (although it was somewhat difficult to converse through the rain) and was amazed to discover how receptive everyone was to hearing each other’s stories.
image2
I know I spend a lot of time thinking about how diabetes inconveniences my life and takes freedom, confidence, spontaneity, and energy away from me, but the JDRF One Walk helped me to see T1D in a new light: That Saturday morning I felt free, confident, spontaneous, and energetic as I connected with other people over the common ground of Type One Diabetes. After this event, I am looking forward to getting more involved in the diabetes community and I am feeling even more inspired to connect with readers through this blog.
If you are looking for great online T1D resources, check out some of the blogs below.
Beyond Type 1
A Sweet Life
Diabetes Daily Grind
Peace, Love, Insulin
Type 1 Jenn
More Than a Number
Type 1 Diabeter
Glitter Glucose
That Type 1 Life
Tales From a Type 1
Type 1 Type Happy
Leave a Reply

