My first blog post

My goal in starting this blog is to create a space to share with other Type 1 diabetics who want to lead a healthy lifestyle and find balance between acknowledging diabetes as part of their identity without allowing it to dominate their lives.

Fitness and nutrition are shining bright in the media spotlight these days, and while I read up on lots of the latest trendy foods and workouts, I have recently started realizing that none of this information is completely relevant to me and my body because, as a Type 1 diabetic, I have to be aware of some slightly different needs than the average person. I want this blog to be a place where I help my readers make sense of the current wellness world through a Type 1 lens.

I wanted to keep my first post short, but over the course of the next few weeks, I plan to share with you more specific details on how this blog was born and some of my ideas for its growth.

One of my greatest hopes for this blog is that it will create an online community of Type 1 diabetics (or help me become apart of a community that already exists!) Please comment below, introduce yourself, and let me know if there is anything specific you would like to bring to the conversation. I would love to connect with you and hear all about the blood sugar, sweat, and tears in your story!

 

Leave a Reply

